“You learn your purpose through relationships.” -Rick Warren

Now, I know Pastor Rick Warren’s message discusses all relationships in general in his message from today’s daily devotional.

However, I have a strange take on the above tweet I included in this post.

What the tweet says is so true, but being the odd female that I am, I’m trying to honestly remember out of the 4 more serious dating relationships I’ve had, when a guy has ever really, actually asked me to be his girlfriend.

Guess what? It only happened once and it’s because I asked, “So what are we?”

Honestly, don’t feel bad. I’m not trying to win sympathy votes here, but in the other 3 relationships, the question was never really asked or brought to the forefront. One or either of us either avoided the question or just started calling the other “girlfriend” or “boyfriend.”

This is surprising to me because I like having a name, definition, or description for things. I think the “What are we?” talk is important.  That discussion sets the tone and can set the expectations for the dating relationship because, I feel when you have “that talk” it sort of solidifies what you both are working towards.

Of course, I’m a fan of, “Actions speak louder than words,” so on the other hand, actions when you are dating someone are important and say or convey to the other person what you are to that person, but I also think verbalizing what you are in a dating relationship is equally as important.

Am I making sense?

Here’s another tweet that struck me:

So much respect for this guy. I have had guys in my life say this to me and have really respected them for being able to be that straight forward with me. Sometimes it wasn’t what I wanted to hear, but I usually respected that guy’s honesty and his ability to verbalize that to me.

Anyways, just food for thought and some reactions to what I’m seeing in my Twitter feed.

Good night all!

 

Leave a Reply

