“As long as you’re here, as long as you love me…” -Lupe Fiasco feat. Ed Sheeran

Ok, so I must be in the mood to reminisce.  The song I picked for my blog title has nothing to do with my post.  In short, I’m not trying to suggest anything in any way except that I like this song and I guess since I’m doing so many throw back posts, I thought this was an appropriate song.

On to my next story…

As a young child I moved around a lot because of one of my parent’s work training.  When we moved back to the area after living in another state for a couple years, I was feeling a little uprooted, experiencing a culture shock of sorts, and I just plain missed where we had lived previously.

When we moved back to the area where I was from, I decided that I wanted to go to a smaller private school, which my parents were fine with.

However, after 2 years there, while I loved the academics and teachers, socially, it wasn’t a good fit for me.

I somehow convinced my parents to send me to a public middle school and socially, I have to say those were some of the best years of my life.

I had attended school with some of the students way back in kindergarten, so I recognized some faces, but didn’t necessarily “know” anyone well. My first year of middle school I learned a lot and was trying to figure out how to fit in.

By the time high school rolled around, I wasn’t part of the popular crowd per se, but I ran around with the “good” kids.  It was interesting, though, because once high school rolled around the social divisions and cliques in my class weren’t as apparent as they had been in middle school. I started getting to know some of the more popular kids because we either rode the same bus, had classes together, or both.

Of course, by the time sophomore and junior year of high school rolled around, it was entirely “uncool” to ride the bus.  And yes, I snuck around on occasion, and would catch a ride with different friends, which yes, my parents did catch me and no they weren’t happy…

The whole driver’s license thing, either I was too lazy or not ready to get it right away.  I was in one of those wonderful states where you had to take the temps test, pass, wait six months and in the meantime do driver’s ed. and get all your driving hours in with parents and the driver’s ed. instructor, etc…

In other words, I was driving most of my senior year for the most part…

I have no idea why I’m writing about this, but I think that it was really interesting how as a class we seemed to come together over the 4 years.  We weren’t all best buds, but I think we all respected each other for who we were.

I spent 7 years with basically the same people, with new ones filtering in and out here and there, and it was the most socially stable I had ever felt in my life.  Academically, I wasn’t a stand out and I played a sport just because…not because I was particularly talented, and of course I was pretty involved with other extracurriculars. However, the friends I made during middle school and high school is something that really stands out to me about this time.

I would never want to re-live these years, ever, but I felt like as a class we really sort of gelled together…and the teachers I had, for the most part, were simply amazing.

Leave a Reply

