“You know you look so Seattle, but you feel so L.A…” -Fall Out Boy

So this is an evening where it’s nice to sit down with a steaming cup of hot tea and just sort of reflect and process what’s going on.  Appropriately, it’s New Year’s Eve, so hopefully this post will have some meaning for me and help in moving forward into the new year, which I’m really looking forward to.

As far as the music pick for this post, there were a lot of choices running through my mind.  One was a throwback of NSYNC’s, Bye, Bye, Bye, and then I thought of using Rachel Platten’s, Stand By You, however, I felt Fall Out Boy was most appropriate and catches the angsty vibe I’m feeling right now.

By no means would I like this post to be a downer, but after having an adventurous day with some family friends yesterday, I’m dealing with the whole “processing” aspect of life.  After yesterday’s adventures, I’m left feeling sad for one reason or another and just being the way I am, I find it difficult to let myself be sad when I have a lot going on and a lot to be grateful for.

However, today, I was just kind of rolling around in my mind different times of my life.  In a recent Cavs post-game interview, LeBron James was fielding questions about recent basketball games and his then upcoming birthday and turning 31.  As far as turning 31, I thought it was interesting that he brought up  how he loved being 18, 19, and 20, but he really loves his place in life now and how he wouldn’t want to be 18, 19, or 20 again. I thought what he said was very present-minded and echoes how I feel.  I’m around the same age as LeBron James, so call it an age thing, but what he said really resonated with me because as much as I reflect on what happened previously, I wouldn’t want to re-live any of my previous years and am very happy with where I am in life right now.

Of course I’m not super comfortable in this spot, but I know things in my life are moving along.

However, with the impending new year and just trying to get a feel for where I’d like my dating life to head, I found yet another interesting find on Pinterest about divorce.  I’m including the link below:

10 Weird Things that Predict Divorce

I was running some errands today and on the drive I was thinking about previous relationships.  There was a more recent dating relationship I had had and it was pretty brutal.  The guy I was dating and I were never on the same page.  I wanted something more serious and he wanted to date around because he was coming off a break up from a long-term relationship. While I understood his need to see other people, I also saw a maturity thing going on too. I was a few years older than him, so whether I was right or wrong, I felt there was a lot of maturing he needed to do before he and I could ever date more seriously. Maybe I couldn’t express that to him clearly enough, but our chemistry was way off.  What I wanted and needed differed greatly from his wants and needs in a dating relationship. He kept pointing out the obvious about the ways we did work, but I had to go with my gut feeling about our relationship, and that feeling was we didn’t have what it took to make it.

And there always was that whole trust factor too…

I’m skipping over a lot of detail, but the main take away message is that when one doesn’t get what he or she needs from a dating relationship and continues to try to make it work, it’s recipe for dating disaster, especially if both interested parties aren’t fully committed to each other at the same time.

Not sure if that made sense, however, another aspect of dating that was running through my mind was the physical side of a relationship.  I never really worried about that aspect so much when I first started dating, but as I get older, the struggle appears to be real.

My concern right now is what if all your relationship is based upon is physical intimacy?  I mean physical intimacy is definitely important in a dating relationship, but I feel like there’s so much more to a relationship than just that, especially coming from a more Christian based dating perspective.  I could go into more detail, but I think you all get the general idea.

On a lighter note, I will close with this video from Fox Sports Ohio, when it appears Kevin Love’s teammates forgot about him when a timeout was called during the Cavs-Suns game.  I didn’t really pick up on what had been going on during the game, but saw something about it the next day and thought it was cute.  The Cavs camraderie demonstrated in this video reminds me of  my high school days and my merry band of friends.  We always were there to “pick each other up” it seems.  Shout out to the old high school crowd.

Not sure if I’m entirely satisfied with how my words fell in this post, but I hope I’ve made my point.

 

Leave a Reply

